Eco-marathon Team Rises to Fame


Led by junior Jake Nyquist, the Eco-marathon team conducted a test run on campus at the track earlier this year in preparation for the competition. (Jake Nyquist)

After being interviewed by ABC 13 news, the Eco-marathon team was featured on KUHF, a radio station affiliated with National Public Radio (NPR).

The team, led by junior Jake Nyquist, includes seniors William Breckwoldt, Brett Gutstein and Phillip Taffet, juniors Jo Chen, Jeffrey Fastow, Jake Peacock and Michael Timte, and sophomores Akshay Jaggi, Deven Lahoti, Vasia Pobedinski and Raymond Yuan.

“I think it’s the first time we made prime time media, so that’s exciting,” Pobedinski said.

The Eco-marathon team, which is entered in the competition as the Maverick Solar Power Team, has also been reported on in two articles for the Houston Chronicle, a news segment in ABC 13, and they will appear on KHOU (Channel 11) tomorrow morning.

“I think we’ve attracted more media attention for two main reasons,” Fastow said. “One, we have pursued several sponsorships around Houston, and subsequently, we’ve garnered a lot more public attention. Two, we gained nominal media interest last year, which put us on the map. We’ve received several requests from news stations simply because they enjoy seeing the progression from one year to another.”

April 4 was the first of four days in the Shell Eco-marathon. The team brought their car to the George R. Brown Convention Center and adjusted it to pass inspection.

The opening ceremony will take place, April 5, and teams will be allowed to take practice runs afterwards. Over the weekend, the teams will take the race to roads in downtown Houston while displays on fuel efficiency, such as the Shell Mobility Footprint Zone, will take place in the George R. Brown Convention Center and Discovery Green Park.

Teams will compete to see who can travel the farthest distance using the least amount of energy. The track is located on city streets around Discovery Green Park. One lap is approximately 0.6 miles and contains four turns. Teams will complete ten laps.

For a team’s run to be validated, the team must finish the six-mile course in under 24 minutes and 15 seconds with an average of speed of 15 miles per hour.

Nyquist said, “Everything went really well today, and we are looking forward to racing the car.”

Rebecca Chen
Staff Writer


One Response to Eco-marathon Team Rises to Fame

  1. rchen says:

    * with sophomore Raymond Yuan on the team as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *